In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

Online communication is becoming increasingly popular these days, eliminating the need for in-person contact. In my view, is both a positive and negative side to this trend. This essay will discuss my points in detail. On the one hand, communication through the internet makes us be able to communicate with friends and families living overseas and be able to see them live. For instance, Skype and Face time apps are free of charge and we can use them to talk and our loved ones anywhere around the globe. Furthermore, it facilitates our communications with so many different organisations including schools, government offices using email service, while in the past we had to use traditional mailing system to submit documents to an organization or to our friends that would take sometimes few weeks to get to the destination. As can be seen, the internet has made our lives much easier in terms of different means of communication. On the other hand, dependency on the computer to do our jobs has made us lose face to face communication making new generation to acquire less social skills than before. It is undeniable that nowadays the young generation mostly communicates via social media, through Snapchat, text messaging and other existing software in lieu of in person. This can cause them not to have face to face contact with their peers making them prone to depression and self-isolation. According to some research, the rate of depression among teens within the past decades has been skyrocketing. This is not surprising due to the fact that most kids are spending time in front of the computer playing video games, and most of their communication is online causing isolation and lack of in-person communication, leading to depression. As can be seen, this aspect of internet communication is not constructive especially for the new generation. In conclusion, I do believe that internet communication is advantageous in terms of expediting our old mailing system and giving us the opportunity to be in our loved ones, while at the same time causing isolation and lack of social skills in the new generation. I think it is better to use it in moderation.