The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2020 there may be as many as 40 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past years, there was a dramatic increase of demands and numbers of vehicles. Some people support on encouraging alternative forms of transport and introducing laws to control car ownership and use. From my perspective, I totally agree the given statement because other types of vehicles indeed can substitute normal cars and it is necessary to control the usage of automotive vehicles. To begin with, admittedly, there are various kinds of helpful transportation methods that can be used to replace fossil fuel cars. One apparent category is public transportation, especially underground, taxi and buses. The uses of those motors can also deliver individuals to their destinations with lower carbon dioxide emissions. In addition, nowadays, it becomes more common to use electric shared cars, which have as the same function as people’s own motor vehicles with less pollution. Furthermore, bicycles, including the one that uses electricity and the normal one, are beneficial for human’s health when use them to travel to and back from working frequently. Besides, there should be regulations on usage of private wheeled vehicles in order to protect the environment. If governments still did not take any actions, the result would be disastrous. For instance, ice glaciers in polar areas would melt caused by large amount greenhouse gases. I hold a pessimistic view that the community can cope with even a small rise in sea level well. Thousands of people would lose their jobs, homes, and even life, especially in the coastal cities, and the potential of spread of famine and disease would be huge. As a result, the society would be more unstable, and citizens might lose confidence of the country. Therefore, the curb on the number of cars using is necessary for every nation in order to prevent this consequence happened. In conclusion, I totally agree the opinion that other forms of transport should be encouraged to substitute cars using right now, and it is essential to set laws to regulate usage of motors vehicles.