Some believe that the best way to stay fit is to join a gym or health club while others think doing everyday activities such as walking and climbing stairs is enough. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many think that going to the gym is unnecessary and you can get in adequate shape simply through your day-to-day routine. In my opinion, there are benefits to a generally active lifestyle but joining a gym is still the best guarantee of a basic level of fitness. The health benefits of everyday activities are apparent for those who are very active walkers. Doctors advise the average person to walk 10,000 steps a day to be healthy. These steps can now be easily recorded with a FitBit or Apple Watch, which means that there is less need than ever to set aside gym time. This clear goal can encourage individuals to become more aware of their daily habits and slowly change or supplement them. For example, instead of taking the elevator to one’s apartment or work, you can add a few hundred steps by taking the stairs. While at work you can walk around more often and all your progress will be digitally recorded. This dedication may become a habit, eliminating the need for regular, dedicated workouts. Despite the advantages of walking detailed above, the gym nets more impactful results. The number one leading cause of death globally is heart disease and the only way to combat it is through dietary changes and exercise. Researchers have long extolled the benefits of aerobic exercise for heart health. The most effective aerobic workouts happen at the gym on treadmills and ellipticals. Many doctors recommend that patients at risk of heart disease sign up for gym memberships and commit to a regular workout schedule as walking alone does not provide the intense workout required to strengthen the heart and prevent early death. In conclusion, going to the gym is crucial to be in good shape. Healthy habits ranging from good nutrition to taking part in sports to making time for the gym are important checks against the inclination today towards a passive, sedentary lifestyle.