"Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?"

A sizeable amount of children play computer games as a lot of individuals have extensive access to computers. This essay will suggest that increased physical violence in children that engage in a computer game is a huge negative impact and engaging children in kid-friendly computer entertainment will reduce the unwelcome effect of video games. An increase in physical violence amongst children who play games is the biggest negative impact. Millions of teenager who engage in video games are exposed to gaming  characters  that use guns, swords, knives as part of the entertainment that the game provides. Furthermore,some games involve combat,killing a character to proceed to the next stage and win a prize. As a result of this,youngsters who are quick learners are tempted to try out these actions seen during gaming such as  fighting even without a trigger, using knives in a samurai fight. These can bring about serious injuries. To illustrate, an article in the New York Times 2011 mentioned that the mortal combat game series triggered a series of fights amongst children in downtown Harlem and Queens. A possible solution to aid in reducing the unpleasant effect would be switching computer games with more mind engaging kid-friendly games. Games such as spelling bee,chess, scrabble should be made available and accessible in computers for youngsters because they are intellectually stimulating and would be more beneficial to their word development as well as academics. Japan is one country were video game evolved,they have successfully lessened the video game effect on children by developing more engaging educational games In conclusion, rising fury in youngsters is one of the negative impacts of playing computer games, a possible solution would be to provide more intellectually stimulating educational games already utilised by countries like Japan.