In some countries, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is witnessed that students generally, get employed once their high school is completed. They prefer to work for a period of time till they get enrolled in a university. This is considered to be advantageous in the growth of the overall personality of a child in various aspects along with few downsides. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this norm. To begin with, students choose to get employed in various occupations which require the least qualification. For instance, they choose to work in retail stores such as Mcdonalds, Dominos, Starbucks etc. to get an extra income to pay for their expenses. This helps them become self-independent and develops a habit of spending money judiciously. Additionally, a child is indulged in a habit that has constructive effects on his personality such as punctuality and discipline which also keeps him away from indulging in activities that do not have any positive effect such as gaming and watching movies. However, a child being employed at a small age are subjected to get exploited. They are paid less than the minimum wage. Moreover, they are subjected to work for more hours which can affect their psychology in many ways since this is the age where they should be enjoying rather than working. In a nutshell, a student should be working to learn work ethics however, this may also affect their childhood in terms of excessive workload. Therefore, both of the above aspects should be kept in view while engaging a child in a job before their legal age.