The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the speed of the modern life style, people have resorted to the convenience foods in the recent years. While some people consider that the consumptions of convenience foods has some benefits, others think that is harmful. In my opinion, I think the drawbacks of convenience foods outweigh the benefits as I will explain in this essay. Admittedly, there are advantages pertaining to the convenience foods. Firstly, it is easy to prepare and saves time for those wo leads a busy life. For instance, college students who live in dorms depends heavily on such kind of food because they do not have the time to cook a meal and they rather prefer a meal that takes less time to prepare so they can have enough time to study. Secondly, convenience foods are considered cheap compared to homemade foods. In other words, homemade foods require purchasing the ingredients separately, whereas convenience foods are mostly pre-cooked meals. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe that readymade foods can bring about more harm than benefits. One problem is that it can cause health problems. For example, canned food contains preservatives that are the main contributory for cancer. In addition to that, the high level of sugar that some of this type of food contain may cause obesity, especially children and this can result in diabetes in the long run. In conclusion, despite the merits associated with this trend, I think the health problems caused by the consumption of such food are detrimental to the human body and outweigh any benefits