With a growing population many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. what are the advantages and the disadvantages of doing this.

Recently there has been a noticable rise in population. It is thought that genetically modified crops should be increased. In this essay I shall explain the possible positive and negative impacts of such an idea. On the one hand, production of more genetically modified foods results in many advantages. one of which is increasing the rate of agriculture outcome. this is because genetic engineering aims to come up with crops which are more productive and with longer life span. Accordigly, main cereals like wheat, corn and rice anre expected to fill the needs of nowaday elevated population. Additionally, vegetables which used to rotten in few hours or days are now modified to last for one to two weeks, so they can bare being shipped to far places without being damaged. For instance, original tomatoes used to rotten from two to four days maximum, but they were treated to sunrise for over two weeks recently. Such development, indeed, affects positively on the country’s economy. On the other hand, using genetically modified foods may have some drawbacks. One disadvantage is that it causes dangerous diseases. To illustrate, as scientists change the characters of natural vegetables and fruits, they, definitly, use chemical substance which eventually affects our health causing dreadful sicknesses such as cancer. For example, according to a research conducted by the Fuclty of Agriculture at Zagazig University in which 5000 volunteers who consume GM foods participated in the research, about 10% of the participants developed different concerous diseases. Another disadvantage is that, the industry of producing organic natural crops would recede. Due to the almost impossible competition between them and the productions with cheap prices compaired with organic crops. Consequently, investers who own farm lands which plant organic foods may lose their jobs affecting the country economy negatively. To conclude, more GM foods result in many advantages as increasing food production and quality, while they may have many disadvantages as affecting our health and vanishing organic food industry.