In the future, more people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Era post pandemic has seen complete change in the toursim sector with travel pattern of people changing to large extent and exploring least explored places. Hence I agree, that in future more people will opt to go on holidays in their own country as compared to foreign destinations. As per reports laid down by various travel companies and data published by AAI on the passenger movement of domestic travel destinations and bookings has seen 25% growth in span of last 16 months with many first time travellers too visiting tourist places on holidays. Such a change in preference is due to following factors depicts global outlook on travel. First and foremost, many tourist are now opting for mini gateways which is within 500 Kms and less than 8 hours drive wherein they don’t have to opt for minimum week long leave from their work. Substantial increase in traffic is observed in hotel and homestays along with taxi booking and short air travel routes as per reports furnished by NHAI and Tourism ministry of India. Another reason is also budget constraint which has forced consumers to reach out to places in their home country as travelling abroad has become a costly affair not only in term of air ticket booking but also lodging and foreign exchange as per International Travel Authority. Thirdly from my own personal experience due to boom in digital information reach attractions in domestic destinations have zoomed up due to log of v-loggers bloggers and youtubers who are creating awareness about uninhibited places which are serene and tranquil far away from commercial sites. I myself explored Chiplun in Maharashtra because of travel blog. Lastly another justification for spike in inland tourism in places in India is because of the fact many consumers are now understanding the benefits of taking break and enjoying time with friends and family which gives them much required break from busy schedule and rejuvenate their mind and body from usual busy life and these new travellers prefer local places considering paucity of time and money. Hence due to above reasons I strongly feel there will be spike in locals visiting domestic places compared to foreign trips.