People who read for pleasure have better imagination and language skills than those who prefer watching TV. To what extent do you agree?

Never before have information technologies such as television been so widely promoted. While enjoying the benefits from TV, including better visual and auditory experience, many people believe that the imagination and language abilities of the public are weakened. From my perspective, only those original methods to obtain knowledge, such as reading, help us to build up the imagination and develop language abilities. Without douts, the invention of TV has greatly improved the quality of our lives. It enables us to gather a wider range of fresh information from all over the world. Comparing to the past, new messages could merely be found from slowly-updating local newspapers for the majority of the families, the sources of information has been enlarged considerably. With that in mind, those audiences of TV programs can actually be more creative since they could find more vivid inspirations from the TV contents. Nevertheless, old-fashion ways to gather messages, for instance, reading, is indispensable in cultivating the skills in imagining and writing. First of all, the audiences of TV program are fed with information so fast that they do not have adequate time to digest the news. By contrast, when reading from paper-based media, the reader can freely adjust their speed so that they can think deeper into the topic, learning from the beauty of languages and most importantly, creating their own critical opinions towards the topics discussed in the books. As a consequence, critical thinking and linguistic skills will be improved naturally. In addition, words in a book can not describe the scene that the author tries to show perfectly, which, on the contrary, leaves the reader free space to imagine the story and their corresponding abilities can be thus improved. To put everything into consideration. The widespread TV indeed increases the public's creativity by providing more information. However, not only can readers find their personal rhythm, but also they will have the opportunity to imagine freely about the vague scenes described in the books, which are indispensable to cultivate their linguistics and imaginary abilities.