Some people think that it is better to choose friends who have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

As there is a popular saying “Birds of the same feather flock together”, society predominantly tend to choose friends with similar characteristics as theirs. Some people believe that friends should have the same opinion as them, whereas others, including myself, think that friends should have different views. In this essay, I will discuss both these opinions and explain why I think it is important to have friends with varying views. Many people consider friends to be their support system. They think that true friendship is built by agreeing to every judgment and decision they make. This trend is mostly seen in students who pick friends with similar thoughts. For example, many school children form groups of friends who have tastes that are alike. People feel that having the same viewpoint reduces the chances of arguments or rifts amongst friends, hence encouraging a peaceful relationship with each other. However, in my point of view, it is important to have friends with opposing outlooks also. This enables a person to think from a different perspective. For instance, I recently faced a dilemma in deciding to leave my job due to certain issues at my workplace. But my friend strongly discouraged me from taking this step as she understood that I made that decision under the influence of my emotions. Though initially, I resisted listening to her, later I realized that she was right due to which I still have my job now. Moreover, constructive criticism is essential to build a strong personality. Friends who point out the mistakes in others, help to develop a good character and behaviour. In conclusion, possessing a companion who sometimes disagrees is necessary to encourage a person to think from various aspects. They help in shaping our thoughts to become a better individual.