Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that commercial relations between nations have a huge impact on their economic status. Some scholars argue that it is better to have local production of groceries consumed on their own territory while others disagree. I tend to agree with the latter for the following reasons. In recent years, China has grown its economic power. The reason for this, among other things, relies on its ability to delegate to underdeveloped countries such as Brazil the production of commodities. To illustrate this point, it is interesting to consider the impact of soy bean’s harvest on South America. It consumes a huge amount of water and causes environmental and climate changes. In addition, the wealth provided by it can not afford the final product which is the cattle meat and neither this vegetable can be used to feed the Brazilian population. As a result, Brazil is accountable for most part of the Chinese nourishment and its own people starve due to the scarcity of viable lands. Nowadays, most prosperous continents are densely populated. As a consequence, they must import their food supplies because areas with fertile soil are occupied by buildings. For instance, Europe concentrates one- third of the world’s wealth. Had they tried to cultivate most part of the ingredients for their meals, they would have substantially failed. As luck would have it, most part of their daily basis consumption comes from abroad. Therefore, the perception of a self-sustained place is outdated. To sum up, it is impossible to analyze any production chain in an isolated way. It will lead to a narrowed vision of a false surplus of one ware that not necessarily reflects the whole situation. Furthermore, the liability owned by production rarely is compensated by the selling revenue. On the other hand, profits made by industrializing raw material are more likely to happen.