Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Sleeping and resting are part of our daily routines and are often neglected. The lack of sleep can cost a great deal in our lives and its consequences must meet their solutions. Two of the effects of this problem are stress and low performance during the day. It is not uncommon that people that can not rest enough will take more time to have work done and suffer from distractors. Thus, a possible solution lays in a change of routine, limiting stressful events and how much of their day is spent on work, such as turning off notifications and avoiding checking on their professional emails. Another problem caused by lack of sleep is increasing in aggressivity. When we are prevented from sleep, our body understands it as an extreme situation of risk or danger. Moreover, feeling angry or enranged is a natural response to a threat that never comes. A viable solution is physical exercises practices daily and adoption of a healthy diet, avoiding caffeine-based drinks at end of the day and excess sugar. Lastly, sleeping has a major role in our self-defence system. There is a delicate balance of hormones that controls our immune system, and its recover works during the night time. Often, people that suffer from insomnia, for instance, find themselves more vulnerable to diseases and infections. Therefore, it is mandatory that they seek medical advice that will determine the procedures to grant enough rest. To sum up, our sleeping cycles are quite sensible and can affect our professional, social and personal lives. Taking care of our rest is one of the most relevant attitudes towards our well-being.