In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

In recent years, the number of mature person is gradually growing in several nations. There are some advantages and disadvantages of this tendency. This essay will discuss both points with relevant examples. On the one hand, there are two main merits of this trend. Firstly, aged people have more experience of life. They can guide and advise the youngsters to achieve their goals. For instance, a survey shows that old retired people, who are the part of an educational institute, like to utilise their time in teaching and giving life lessons to future generation. Secondly, senior persons are more punctual and disciplined than adults. In addition, they are well versed with the tradition and culture of the society. To illustrate, in a join family, children imitates their elders and follow their customs accordingly. On the other hand, a few negative aspects are also taken into consideration. The first one is that if there are older person, the more health care facilities are required for them which amounts to a burden on the country. The second one, that old people are not able to generate income after their retirement therefore they become invaluable for the economy. To conclude, despite some drawbacks this trend has more positive effects on the society. The negative effects can be substitute by making the best use of knowledge and experience of elder people.