Nowadays more and more older people compete with younger people for the same jobs. What can be the reasons for this? What would you suggest as a solution?

The numbers of aged population in the job market have been increasing, and these individuals are competing with adults for jobs. I believe that reduced restriction on retirement age as well as medical improvements are the causes behind this, but some measures can improve the situation. To begin with, fewer limitations on the age for retirement along with improved health are the reasons for more elderly individuals competing at workplaces. The governments have removed the specific age for retiring, as it not only gives people a chance to work as long as they want to help themselves financially but also has lessened the government’s burden of pension and other assistance for retired people. Besides, medical advancements are also helping elderly people to stay healthier in old age, hence they are able to continue working,unlike the past. The companies also prefer more matured and experienced employees, which is enabling these people to give a tough competition to enthusiastic newcomers. However, this problem can be solved with government intervention and some changes in companies’ recruitment process. There should be strict rules for retirement age, so that the young generation has a fair opportunity to enter the job market. Nevertheless, the specific age to retire can be increased from the average age of 65 to 75, this would also give seniors enough time to save for the future. Along with this, companies should also consider each factor such as skills, education, potential, experience before deciding on a suitable candidate rather than just looking for experience. To conclude, it can be said that, limitless retirement age, better medical facilities, and employer’s favour has inclined the numbers of aged population in the job market but government intervention and changed hiring criteria can solve this problem.