Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters(such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, children are fond of wearing fancy clothes and have their own way of enjoying their life through various mediums while enjoying their food. It has been debatable that they should not take their own decisions which makes them selfish in view of few people whereas remaining are in the favour of kids making their own choices. I support the latter part of the argument however, I will through some light on both statements. To begin with, students who are given the freedom to choose for themselves becomes more confident in the long run and also, their decision-making ability is enhanced. For instance, a recent survey has indicated that adults who have been following their own instincts are less confused and their vision in terms of their goals are clear. Therefore, parents should always encourage their kids to make their own choices. On the contrary, some are afraid that such practice may lead to not becoming a better individual and would turn out to be selfish. Those individuals would disregard any suggestion given by others by prioritising their own choice. However, one who takes his own decisions would also respect the other's opinions as well. For example, freedom fighter Netaji who chose to follow his own choice since childhood had always stood beside others and for the welfare of the nation. To conclude, choices of essential elements such as food, clothing and entertainment should solely be made by the children without any external influence for the overall growth of their personality despite several arguments state otherwise.