Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays, taking further education at university is very important for later in life. That is might be the reason why some people say that the main function of the university is to prepare the graduates to become more ready in the area they will work for, whilst others believe that university should only give the students much knowledge whether it is necessary for the future jobs or not. Therefore, in this essay, I would like to explain the reasons why I agree with the first notion as well as give a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. To begin with, university, especially for me, is a final platform for many young people to gain skills and knowledge that are useful for work. Also, it is very essential for the university to give us theoretical and practical practice in order to fulfil the future job, if it does not, then, what the purpose of entering the university? As we have known, after we graduate from the university, we hope we can have a job, so in my opinion, I think the university should provide many practices that are really suitable for the students to get those jobs. For example: many recent graduates may have rich theoretical knowledge, but lack practical skill, then, when they are at the workplace, they can not do anything. It is simply because they have too much insight, but do not know how to apply it. So, it is kinda useless and many employers do not want that thing happens. Thus, instead of having much insight in many areas, it is very recommended that fresh graduates have skills that help them to solve real-life problems rather than only give the ideas that are too general for the issues that they work for. Secondly, based on many cases around the world, giving the students extra knowledge means that they have to spend another extra time at school. This, however, may lead to stress and at the worst part, it can lead to many youths commit suicides. The reason behind this is that having a standard course has been already a burden for them, having other new courses may eradicate their relax time and they become more vulnerable to lose their rational thought. Furthermore, they think that the easy way to end this burden is to commit suicide. This trend has been occurred in Japan, for instance, in the previous decade, 25% of the death ratio was held by the teenager that got stress because the education system that was very hard and they could not bear anymore. In a nutshell, even though some might say that college should give much insight into many areas, but for me, the function of the university is allowing the pupils to have theoretical and practical skills that are needed for the jobs and also, to keep the education standard is reachable for many of them, hence, reducing the suicidal cases in many countries.