The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world citie can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether or not car ownership should be discouraged and the government should encourage people to utilize public transportation much more. In my opinion, I totally agree with this suggestion. First, it is undeniable that travelling by public transportation instead of private automobiles may ease traffic jams, especially in big cities. To be more specific, it would take more space on the road if all citizens commuting to work by their own cars, so sharing trains or buses is a good alternative way keeping more car off the road. Several cities, such as Tokyo, Berlin and Paris, with an efficient network of buses, trains and subways experience no gridlock by any means, for example. Therefore, public transportation obviously not only carries more passengers but also free the road space, leading to traffic jams reduction. Moreover, encouraging urban inhabitants to use public transportation can be a cure for the air problem of cities. It seems that car is one of the primary culprits causing smog in dozens of cities throughout the world. If commuters choose the public transit system, the number of private cars will decrease significantly. As a result, the amount of car exhaust gases entering the air would go down. Singapore, for instance, is one of the cleanest countries in the world, thanks to its excellent public transportation system, which is the key factor contributing to the reduction in car users and harmful smoke emitted. In conclusion, I believe that if the government can raise people’s awareness of using public transportation to replace private cars, this will definitely help alleviate both congestion and air pollutants, improving the quality of city life as a result.