Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession, what factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it.

How many university students are forced to choose a profession which is not aligned with the following graduation programme each year? Even though someone could argue that anyway they are not unemployed and have a way to move forward with life, will they be honestly satisfied? This is a huge issue that most current graduates face every year. One of the main causes for this situation is the outdated courses which are not adjusted according to the current market trends. Because of that, the graduates will find a massive gap between the university and industry which will affect their capability to perform well. It is common to see that currently,many companies conduct onboarding sessions and training sessions for fresh graduates who just joined the company. So, companies have expanded the chosen degree programs for a particular role as anyway they have to train graduates for it from the beginning. Another reason would be allowing students to get enrolled with the courses without thinking about the actual requirement of the industry. This leads to an overwhelming number of graduates will be available for few opportunities, which will force some of them to find a profession even if it does not directly go along with the speciality. Many physical science studying students finally have to choose different professions due to this reason. Conducting a realistic research on current market trends in the industry is required to rectify this issue. Graduation programmes need to be adjusted and intake needs to be limited so that graduates will find more aligned professions with the courses and expectations.