These days people in some countries are living in a “throwaway” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are its causes and what impacts can it have?

The throwaway society, a rather contemporary terminology that describes people's tendency of discarding goods only after a short life cycle, is not novel to most residents in economically developed areas. This essay will look at some primary reasons for this phenomenon and the adverse impacts that it could have on individuals and the environment. The significant boost in manufacturing productivity attribute to continuous technology breakthrough is the main stimulus. Mass production and automatic assembly line installed in most factories nowadays significantly increase the output and thus, lower the cost of consumer goods. Household durables, such as TV and fridges, for example,, are more affordable to present ordinary citizens with an average income. As a result, compared to having broken appliances fixed, replacing them with a brand new model is not as costly as before but more time-saving and convenient for families in urban areas. The detrimental impact on the environment and individual are the most direct consequence of this trend. A large amount of domestic waste is inevitably generated daily. Even though some can be recycled assuming that household garbage classification is effectively implemented in most communities, more landfills are still needed, let alone the potential threat posed by non-biodegradable rubbish like plastic bags, which directly contaminates soil and water. Individuals living in a throwaway society could suffer a great deal. They could easily get into serious debt if they get into the habit of buying the latest, novelty items. Many teens are being burdened with thousands of dollars in credit card debt for their unnecessary purchases, which could lead to depression and anxiety. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the advent of our throwaway society and increasing consumer debt and environmental damage are the two major problems that result from this society. Eradicating the throwaway culture in modern society is an effective first step.