A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The question of whether people are judged by their characteristics or according to their social prestige is a quite debatable topic today. It is considered by some that people are mostly judged by their wealth and social position, not by their core values. Both sides will be examined and I will discuss why I disagree with the given statement. Firstly, ethics and values hold great importance in life, both personally and professionally. Nowadays, people are being judged by their social status, instead of their values of life.To illustrate, take the Indians for instance, they are very religious by nature, however they forget their values for little gains. Moreover, Values are those acts we learn in our childhood from our parents and relatives. Hence,it is understandable for other people's emotions and respecting their culture and lives. Also, no business and profession can progress without trust, values and ethics. Without these factors,all your degrees and certificates make no sense, if you do not know how to respect other people. Besides, good ethics and values depict your country, culture and heritage. Consequently,it builds up a higher reputation for a country. On the other hand, there are celebrities that are judged by their material belongings and their social dignity. This happens as some want to take advantage of their well-off acquaintance. For instance, Paris Hilton, who is a well-known person, is seen with a lot of people around her. Although, that does not mean that they know her personally. Consequently, I think that there are situations where a person's position on the social ladder is more crucial than their inner traits. In conclusion, many think that someone's worth can be determined by their assets and their status, not by their personality. This essay discussed both views and drew conclusions that people are ought not to be judged by the previously mentioned criteria.