Education should be free for everyone. Do you agree or disagree with this statement, and to what extent?

Education is a valuable resource and it advances society. If there are certain barriers to receiving education like costs, many students would lose the opportunity to pursue an education because of this. Therefore, I believe that everyone should have access to free education without limitations. Without a doubt, education is a tool and it advances society and with free universal access to education, there are no limits to what a country and what a society can obtain. A perfect example of this is Germany, where universities are now tuition-free. This has allowed Germany to educate anyone who seeks it and has helped them to become competitive on a global scale. Hence, if all countries developed the same philosophy towards education as Germany, I have no doubt that society will benefit. Some may argue that paying for education helps drive competition between institutions and helps to develop stronger schools. However, I completely disagree because I believe this restricts social mobility. Costs to education create another barrier to those in a lower social class. In other words, if a student would like to pursue a degree in higher education, but cannot afford the high tuition rates then he or she will be unable to further their education. On the other hand, if every person of society is allowed to move forward, then all of society will benefit. In conclusion, education is essential to any society and restricting access to it because tuition limits societal advancements. It is important that we eliminate any sort of barriers to education, including costs.