Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, young adolescents watch a lot of television and play virtual reality games. Nevertheless, some people think that these activities are not beneficial for the younger generation’s mental health. I partially agree with this assumption, and in this essay, I will shed light as to why. On the one hand, it is important to note that, no matter what anyone says, televised games will always promote violence and aggression. Thus, if someone encourages video games for a younger audience, such as GTA developers or COD creators, they are prominently wrong. No matter how much someone tries to shield their child from violence, if the adolescent has friends, they will still be able to gain access to such games. Cyberbullying is also a serious issue when it comes to these types of games. Suicide rates increase as teens continue to play violent and toxic games. On the other hand, mental health issues can be easily triggered by other symptoms in a teenager’s daily life; thus, blaming it only on games is not an option. An erudite parent would conceptually look at the other factors, including video games. Video games help a child socialize with kids their age. Of course, there are predators everywhere, but the beneficial factor would be that the adolescents are socializing and making international friends with the same hobbies as them. In conclusion, it is safe to say that video games are in fact a virus that only grows bigger whenever one tries to stop them. Thus, always looking at the problem from two sides is the safer and more humanitarian option.