There is a lack of reusing and repurposing materials, such as paper, glass bottles and tin cans.

There is a lack of reusing and repurposing materials, such as paper, glass bottles and tin cans. The main reason for this problem is a lack of education about the environment, and a public awareness campaign is the most viable solution. The principal reason why people do not recycle is they do not know the environmental impact,not recycling has on the planet and they are unaware of how to recycle. If they knew how much damage they were actually doing to the world they would be more likely to curb their waste of natural resources. Similarly, many people also do not know where they can send their old materials to be repurposed. For example, the UK government estimate that up to 59% of people do not know which coloured bin to put their glass, paper and plastic in. To solve this problem an awareness campaign is needed to help educate people. This could take the form of advertisements in print and social media telling people why they should be more careful with materials and how they can recycle them. For instance, in,Germany every school child is taught the basics of recycling and they are told to tell their parents the same information, so that they can be green as a family and this has resulted in over 90% of all households recycling. To conclude, the primary cause of people wasting valuable resources is ignorance about the harm it is doing to the planet and a remedy to this issue would be to teach people how to recycle effectively.