The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The government expend money on several areas of the economy, one of which is entertainment such as art exhibition, and musical shows. However, some argue that these monies should be diverted to much more profitable ventures such as health care and education. I am inclined to agree fully with this latter sentiment as the pillars of society rest on the well-being and knowledge of the population. One key area of the economy that requires funds that can otherwise be disbursed to arts is health. For instance, in,Korea one of the major problems is illness among the citizens, particularly the elderly, this causes the mortality rate to be high. Furthermore, if more funds are invested into areas such as research and development of vaccines, this will go a long way to persevere the health of the people, which is very much preferable and long-lasting, in contrast with trivial amusement that is ephemeral and has no lasting contribution. Another sector that requires the attention of the government is education. Research from Nigeria Today reports that aside from infrastructure, a major dent in the growth of Nigeria is low-quality education. Moreover, a nation is only as rich as it’s individuals. The impartation of knowledge into the upcoming generation is a more useful way for the government to invest the sweat of taxpayers, as when ignorance is reduced it will spur up innovation and creativity. To conclude, leaders of society should be prudent with finances. I fully agree that funds disbursed into entertainment are of no benefit to society. Although, if such capital is invested in more cogent areas such as hospital and educational infrastructure, it will bode well for the country and yield better returns in the nearest future.