In many modern societies, grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents. What do you think are the consequences of this?

It is argued that the amount of interaction between the children and their grandparents has extremely decreased recently in a number of current states. On the one hand, this phenomena definitely has a negative impact on the elder generation. On the other hand, it weakens family bonds. To begin with, seldom contacts with their grandchildren contribute to the mounting feeling of loneliness and uselessness among the elder people. The more the world develops, the more ignored the latter become. If a few decades ago the grandparents were the source of knowledge and huge experience, now they possess less authority among the youngsters. Admittedly, this fact may lead to various psychological and even health problems. The most salient example is the recent experiment of Oxford University, which found that the group of elder individuals who had had continuous communication with their grandchildren throughout one month, experienced a 60% less percentage of stress hormone in their blood than those who had had no contact with the children. Alongside this, nobody would deny, that such restrictions of communication between the two generations influence negatively the relationship bonds. Preventing this trend continues, the family members may become isolated from each other further down the line. Apart from this, grandparents are the irreplaceable part of a human’s happy childhood. For example, how can one imagine his childhood without mouth-watering cookies of Grandmother or unbelievable adventure stories of Grandpa? In conclusion, restricted meetings between elder people and their grandchildren may have both psychological and social negative outcomes.