Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe. Discuss both sides and provide your opinion.

Nowadays, populations and private cars have significantly increased in various countries, which is the cause of accidents on the streets. Opinions are divided as to whether the city should limit driving speed to decrease accident rates on roads. Some people believe that there are several solutions that need to be used. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter statement. On the one hand, one of  the effective solutions to decrease accidents on the road is that the government should restrict the driving speed because driving over a given speed does not only violate the transportation rules, but it is also dangerous. For example, driving at 90 kilometres per hour on a street where the maximum is 60 kilometres per hour might save you 15 minutes, but it also increases the chances of an accident. Therefore, citizens should drive at a speed according to the track sign without exceeding the speed limit. On the other hand, a number of street disaster have occurred due to drivers not  concentrating on the road. For example, driving under influence easily leads to hazard on the roads since the driver lacks consciousness. Ignoring the transport regulations can certainly be experienced with drunk driving/he tends to ignore traffic regulations. Moreover, using mobile phones during driving is one of the good examples in several rushed cities. When drivers slide their smartphone, they  focus on the phone but do not see circumstances on streets such as people crossing the road and traffic lights changing. To tackle the different problems, the ministry should launch a strict regulation other than limiting the driving speed in traffic accidents. In my opinion, I believe that other measures could be more successful to address this problem. The government should collaborate with media organisations to raise awareness for citizens to drive safely, such as by creating a campaign or publishing an advertisement on TV. In conclusion, some people believe that limiting driving speed is the best way while others think that the establishment of strict regulations is an excellent idea. Personally, the government should raise awareness among their citizens. It would bring more efficient results in reducing traffic accidents.