Some people think young people are suitable for learning foreign languages. Some people think adults are more suitable. Discuss both and give your opinion.

A few individuals believe that young ones can grasp foreign languages more effectively, whereas others opine that adults can learn these languages more appropriately. I intend to discuss both views in the subsequent paragraphs followed by my own opinion. On the one hand, those who favour the latter notion assert that acquired knowledge in an already known language can assist adults to comprehend the new language in a better way. Since they have already finished the learning of at least one language in their schools as compared to young children who are still in schools, grammatical concepts can be understood more easily by relating with the already learnt language. For example, it is often seen that parts of speech are the same in almost every language, thus, adults can have the upper hand in this aspect while learning any new foreign language. On the other hand, proponents of the former notion opine that young minds can equip new skills at a faster pace. It is primarily due to the fact that studying at an earlier age is more effective as children in their formative years absorb more information in contrast to adults. Not only this, children,in their earlier stage, do not have any ambiguous knowledge about any concept because they are first time learners. Owing to this, they are less likely to get confused with any new topic and, thus, learn a foreign language efficiently. In addition, young ones have more time at their school to learn a new language because they have not yet involved in higher studies such as graduation and post-graduation. Once an adult gets involve in jobs and more time -consuming studies, it becomes difficult to spend some hours learning a new subject or language. However, this is not the case with the little ones who have all the time in the world to get their hands on foreign language as they do not have any other job-related responsibility. To conclude, even though adults can learn a foreign language by co-relating with other languages, I still believe young minds have an edge for learning a new language because of their fresh mind and having more spare time.