Some people believe that a job provides both income and for a social life, while others think that friends should be made outside of work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays we spend the majority of our time in work to meet our financial needs and even we can make new friends. Some people believe that work should be restricted to making money, but others think they can have a balance of both. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why having both social and financial life is more superior. Some people take work seriously focusing only on how to maintain their income due to several reasons. Firstly, they believe any distraction including having friendship with their co-workers in work might affect their performance. For example, more side talks with their colleagues might waste time. Another reason is, they think friends at work might not be trustworthy to share with them your work updates. They tend to make their work confidential. For instance, there might be one of your co-workers who takes an idea that you told him that you are thinking about and share it as his idea. On the other hand, other people believe that having friends will be an add on to their work in different ways. First of all, this will increase teamwork and sharing experiences with each other. I read an article that states that teamwork makes businesses more successful. Secondly, having friends will relieve work stress and thus making you more focused and productive. I remember my first job I tried making friends but my co-workers were so strict, this made me hate going to work. In my opinion, having a balance between work and making new friendships at work is the best scenario. You will be able to learn from other people’s experience and decrease your stress level. Although, I think we must take caution when making friends at work and have enough trust before sharing any work updates.