In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The nursing home has been a common destination for the elderly. It has been a popular choice for dwellers especially when the dwellers are incapable of taking care of themselves or when they reside too far away from their own families. Many elderlies have found the nursing home a paradise for them to socialize and to receive effective care from professionals. Yet it is argued that one should be responsible for the cost of the nursing home or if the government should pay for the relevant fees. In my opinion, I believe that the family should cover the essential cost of the nursing home for the following reasons. First of all, living in a nursing home includes but not limited to renting a place. In addition to the cost of rents, the cost of living also includes everyday basics such as food, drinks and personal belongings. This is a budget that everyone has to consider no matter how old he or she is. If the government pays for everything for the time when one stays in the nursing home, this will subsequently encourage all the elderly to move to the nursing home for the sake of budget-saving. In such a case, tax in the related field that has been collected by the government will be strained for just assisting those in the nursing home, and more nursing homes will have to be built in order to meet the increased demand from the elderly. Last but not the least, most nursing homes need to be lucrative to hire younger employees to maintain and sustain the place. As has been mentioned, the elderly are normally taken care of by medical professionals at the nursing home as the elderly are more likely to suffer from diseases. In general, the amount of funding that the government can afford is extremely limited. This will shrink the wages that medical professionals could receive compared to elsewhere and may be detrimental to the medical cares that they could offer. In conclusion, it is fairer for the families to pay for the expenses at the nursing home, as it is not only the families' obligations to support the elderly financially but also their responsibility to ensure that the elderly could enjoy their lives at the nursing home.