Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

In today’s world, human activity has a devastating influence on the environment and this, in turn, leads to the extinction of species of flora and fauna. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possible reasons for such a tendency and, secondly, it will analyse what can be done to solve this issue. On the one hand, the main cause of loss of bio-diversity is global warming which is being stimulated by people’s activities. This is because not only do factories produce a large amount of carbon dioxide emissions but, moreover, there is a high level of deforestation and loss of green zones. As a result, these carbon dioxide emissions trap the heat of the sun reflected from the Earth in the atmosphere and there are no trees that can clean the air. Therefore, these conditions might provoke global heating and a large number of creatures will lose their houses and some types of plants will die due to unexpected climate changes. For instance, one recent research has shown that the average temperature level has increased by 2% in the last two decades. However, there are possible solutions to this question, namely, government intervention and legislation. This is since not only can the authority introduce pollution permits to discourage companies to pollute but also they can create new laws that will put a maximum level of emissions per factory. Hence, since pollution permits will have high prices it will increase companies’ costs and they will try to find alternative ways how they can reduce the level of pollution. Consequently, the level of air pollution will be decreased this, in turn, will slow down global heating, and animals and plants will have some time to adjust to changes gradually. For example, one study has illustrated that when the government has introduced pollution permits in Ukraine the level of emissions has decreased by 10%. To conclude, the main reason why some animal species became extinct and there is a loss of bio-diversity is that human activity, namely pollution, and deforestation, stimulate an increase in temperatures. This, in turn, lead to a loss of habitation of some creatures and plant extinction. Despite this fact, if the government intervene and introduce legislation this issue can be overcome since it will discourage firms from pollution.