Due to development and rapid expansion supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Supermarkets owned by large global corporations are increasingly becoming popular in many countries. Some people believe that this rapid expansion of hyper stores will lead to the extinction of the local shops established by the local communities. This essay will discuss why the rise of supermarkets can be completely responsible to bring the death of local markets. The increase in presence of supermarkets in cities and small towns has rapidly grown in the last few years. This has led to a change in the shopping habits of the community as they find superstores more convenient. The public find large varieties of commodities produced by different global brands in one place. In addition, there are many sales and discounts offered by these marts which attract more patron thus boosting supermarkets sales. For instance, Big Bazaar, a well-known shopping supermarket in India present in many cities and towns, often offers weekly and monthly discounts on various products to their purchaser; subsequently attracting more consumer base. In short, due to ample variants and significant discounts offered, people prefer going to supermarkets. On the other hand, local business cannot compete with supermarkets at this level. Firstly, local marketers have limited options to offer to their consumer. The customer is not able to compare these brand with other alternatives which make it difficult for him to trust and buy that product. Secondly, local entrepreneurs cannot afford to give concessions compared to what supermarkets are presenting making it more challenging to sell their products. For example, a local carpenter can never offer a 20% discount to its customers compared to that proffered by hypermarkets. This will ultimately lead to the shutting down of his store as he will lose all his customers to the hypermarket. To sum up, with the speedy expansion of supermarkets in all parts of the world, local marketers are being challenged. This essay discussed why supermarkets can consequently lead to the elimination of regional businesses. In my opinion, the survival of local businesses is doubtful considering the above reasons.