Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art.? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

People generally believe that art is a vital component of national culture. Although I agree that it is essential for children to learn relevant knowledge of art, I do not think it is necessary to focus children's study on art subjects. There are some reasons why children should acquire art knowledge. On the one hand, art is a cultural expression of one country's history. It is derived from remote ancestors' life experience, knowledge, and imagination. Art is also associated with national core values and identities, which should be passed onto young generations by having lessons in the classroom. Being taught the importance of national art, a strong social bonding will be formed among youngsters. On the other hand, art contains universal values of human. People around the world share the identical taste of classical music and painting. Viewing from this perspective, art classes would enhance children's ability to appreciate masterpieces. However, I believe that there is no need to request children to concentrate on learning art. In my point of view, students should be entitled to choose subjects according to their interests as well as natural gift. If they show a higher level of performances in playing music or painting, it is reasonable for parents to encourage them and invest money in professional lessons. By contrast, schools and family members should not force children to take art lessons when they are more interested in or good at scientific subjects. In conclusion, it is not imperative to encourage children to learn art subjects, regardless of diverse benefits of acquiring it.