Some people believe that charity organizations should give aid to those in greatest need, wherever they live. Other people believe that charity organizations should concentrate on the people in their own country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have mixed views on the duty of charity groups. While some individuals believe that charity funds should be used to help those in greatest need, regardless of the nationality, others argue that it is more important to subsidise residents in their own country. I agree with the latter. On the one hand, there are some reasons for giving the priority of aid to those who struggle to survive around the world. Firstly, hunger is still a severe problem in many regions, particularly in which suffered from wars and drought. Both political and natural effects result in the wide-spread hunger. It is reasonable for charity groups like NGO to provide international aid to help these people survive. Secondly, healthcare system in many developing nations is poor, which results in high death rates of children. For example, women who have no access to hospitals have to give birth to their children at home, which would put both mothers and babies in danger. Since food and health problems relate directly to human survival, charity organisations should help these people at first. On the other hand, some people argue that we cannot distinguish who is the person in greatest need and it is local charities' responsibility to deal with domestic problems. There are also many deprived areas in each country, and a large number of residents live in poverty even in developed countries. Taking China as an example, a great number of children are left at home with their grandparents because their parents have to immigrate to big cities to find jobs. These children not only lack economic support, but also interactions with family members. Perhaps these problems are not as emergency as hunger, but it is also imperative and would affect young generation's growth. From this perspective, I believe that charity funds should be allocated to support domestic inhabitants. In conclusion, while international aid is necessary, I agree that it is more important to focus on domestic problems.