According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

Some recent researches are showing how people are spending more time on the internet and less time with real relationships. That being said, some people argue that the internet is not a tool to build new relationships. On the contrary, they believe that we should be worried about how the internet is affecting society. I firmly agree with this idea and this essay presents arguments to support my opinion. The main reason why I believe we should be worried about the effect of the internet is due to the fact that this tool is threatening social interaction. This is because people spend long hours using social apps on their phone and simply forget about their friends. For example, social apps, such as Facebook and Instagram, are the most common applications world-wide and people generally spend five to six hours using these platforms daily. In addition, the internet may be held responsible for the decrease of social interaction mainly because people have numerous resources for entertainment and, as a consequence, they are avoiding social meetings. Another possible reason for this concern is how these applications are becoming extremely powerful. It is known that digital communication is a trend, and not only people are using more and more these resources but also companies. This trend makes technology companies more powerful, and in order to retain people attention, they use resources that make people spend more time on their platforms and fewer moments with human beings. For instance, the former president of Facebook has said that their idea is to make people spend more time on their sites. If people spend more time using apps, they will spend less time interacting with others. To conclude, I strongly believe that the internet is a threat to human communication. The main reason for this is how people are using digital platforms and how these companies are enticing people to spend more time on their sites.