Millions of people every year move to English speaking countries such as Australia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study English? Why is English such an important international language?

In recent years so many people migrate to English speaking countries for reasons such as education and work. Consequently, leading more people to study the English language. This essay will discuss why this is so and the importance of the language. The primary reason immigrants study English is due to the fact that it is a prerequisite for educational consideration into countries such as America. Furthermore, colleges especially in America require foreign students to be adept at speaking the language, as it will foster communication and boost the effectiveness of teaching and learning. For instance, The College of Antonia on its website lists that proof of English is an essential document to be submitted for one to be considered for admission. Hence this encourages the number of people that study the language. English is an essential international language, as a result of its acceptance in almost every part of the world. Across countries, English is spoken vastly amongst the population. Moreover, it is even considered the first language in many countries that were colonized by the British empire. For instance, in Nigeria, there are over 1,000 languages, and this can cause can discord when it comes to interaction. But due to the English language, the communication gap is greatly shortened once both parties understand English. To conclude, aspiring students study the English language especially because of the proof required by many universities before granting them admission. It will continue to be a relevant language because it is considered an official language by a majority of countries.