Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

The process of giving people feedback or evaluating their performance is something that has existed for years and certainly will continue in the near future. However, the majority of the population does not enjoy receiving criticism or being tested. This essay will explore the two main reasons behind this issue as well as present a couple of possible solutions. To begin with, let us start with the two causes of the problem at hand. Firstly, most people in the position to give feedbacks have not been properly trained to do so, which causes the communication to happen in a way that can make the receiving end feel insecure. Several are the stories of angry bosses that yell at their subordinates instead of having a calm and gentle conversation with them. When this happens it is reasonable that people feel ashamed and threatened, which creates a psychological barrier in them for future feedback interactions. Secondly, regarding evaluations, consider how most of the tests can be extremely stressful. An absurd amount of pressure is generally put on those taking exams, mainly due to the harsh penalties that can accompany failure. To illustrate, at schools children that fail evaluations are told that they will not be able to attend a good university, which further decreases their motivation and will to be tested again. Despite these issues, several solutions can be applied to these situations. To start with, people that give feedbacks should be trained to do so, as there are much better ways of communicating the message. Many studies have shown that the 'sandwich feedback ', which consists of saying the negative criticism in the middle of two positive sentences, can be an effective way of transmitting what needs to be said. To further explain, people that get praised for their good actions before receiving a critic tend to be much more receptive to it. Now, regarding evaluations, there is one way of relieving the pressure from those that are being examined. Some researchers have proven that a more continuous method of evaluation should be preferred over a discrete test. This can make the pressure dissolve in a more expanded timeframe. To conclude, being tested and receiving feedback are difficult things to handle and will probably continue to bother most of the population. However, there are solutions to these issues such as training people in communication, as well as changing the current method of evaluation present in society. If the government could raise awareness of these matters to the public and propose the solutions discussed above, certainly many would be grateful and benefit from this action.