Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many administrations splash out on improving individuals to succeed in global sporting competitions. Some people state that such huge amount of money should be used for other purposes which will bring positive impacts on the general public. From my perspective, I partly disagree with the statement. The essay tends to elaborate on the matter thoroughly in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is undeniable that international sporting events may have specific effects on one country’s economics and politics such as World Cup, Olympics,… If one nation gains prizes in such competitions, that not only means that it has the opportunity to achieve fame, admiration and trust from the world but also to attract people from other countries travel to its territory. Furthermore, the more famous and reliable a country is, the more likely it can gain a chance to organize enormous global events in their homeland. For example, Japan is responsible for organizing the Winter Olympics in 2022, this will not only increase the number of people travel to Japan to spectate matches but also appeal many international companies to invest into many ideal areas and spread out beautiful Japanese culture to the world. On the other hand, investing a large amount of money into this realm seems to be unfair to other fields such as science, history, art,… It can be easily seen that there are many football players or basketball players, who are paid highly after each match they won, have a lot of scandals and bad lifestyle. For instance, a basketball player was caught using drugs in his own villa in 2009. This may arise many complaints and anger among sport fans as well as normal citizens in the community. In addition, there is one field that require much more attention from the administration – general public, as the economics grows, inhabitants demand greater care and public services so as to upgrade their life standards. Furthermore, when one is satisfied his needs, he will be committed to work and contribute impressively to the growth of his country. To sum up, although investing an enormous sum of money into athletes’s improvement of performance has many benefits, the government should consider its adverse impacts as well as make more effort into improving the life standard of the residents.