Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that the most effective solution for decreasing traffic and pollution issues is to increase the price of petrol. However, in my opinion, this notion will be beneficial to some extent but this is not a permanent solution. The following essay will give a detail explanation about other measures that might be effective. To begin with, due to an increase in fuel prices there will be a reduction in the usage of private transport and people will travel in public vehicles and this will reduce the traffic and will also solve all the problems related to pollution as this solution will decrease the emissions of carbon dioxide from the vehicles. On the other hand, this solution also has some disadvantages. To illustrate, the increase in petrol prices will not create any problem to the affluent because they can spend a lot of money on fuel in order to travel in a private vehicle such as a car. Instead of this, there should be an improvement in the construction of fast roads because this will solve the problems related to traffic, additionally, there should be an improvement in the public transportation. For example, if the government contributes in the construction of fast trains, this will reduce the traffic as people will prefer to travel in trains over cars and also, they will save their time. Moreover, money should be spent on the creation of the transportation that consumes less amount of petrol and emits limited carbon dioxide and due to this, air pollution will be under control. For example, there should be more focus on the production of electric bikes because it saves fuel. To conclude, higher fuel prices is not a permanent solution for these problems and due to this fact, people should focus on alternative solutions that might prove useful in solving problems related to traffic and pollution.