In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

A common trend nowadays is that more and more mobile applications are becoming monetized, hence one has to pay in order to use the app. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this situation. I will also justify why I lean towards thinking that this situation carries more benefits. On the one hand, it is obvious that application developers need to be paid. Their salaries are formed by either advertisement placement or by income from the subscription fees. Therefore, paid applications are free of annoying ads and marketing pop-ups. Another good example of the advantage is that generally paid apps are far more sophisticated and provide a better quality experience rather than the free ones. Monetized products compete with each other, hence resulting in technical industry growth and development overall. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to such a method. A good illustration is that people with lower income can not afford to pay for the subscription, thus they may feel left out from the trend. For example, teenagers may be greatly affected by such a situation as they always tend to compare themselves with each other. To conclude, it is fair to admit that there are some cons of making payments for a utility. Nevertheless, I think that better quality, exclusiveness and industry development outweigh the possible demerits.