Nowadays,young people admire sports stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is no doubt that role models are deeply influencing future generations. lately, popular athletics are considered as role models for youngsters despite some of them do not follow acceptable behaviour. I agree with the latter, and I shall elaborate on my opinion and explain my reasons. To begin with, following bad sports stars examples can affect the youngsters ' personalities. This is because they copy the stars ' actions without differentiation if those actions are positive or negative. This originally roots from the fact that young people are not mature enough to do so because at this period of their life they acquire experiences from their surroundings. For example, in the year 2018,there was a football player in the Egyptian football team who has insulted an Instagram female blogger. And instead of punishing him for what he did his followers and fans started to attack the lady accusing her of being dishonest and that she has faked the story. Accordingly, general ethics are deprived of those individuals just because they admire that athlete. Furthermore, when the youngsters start to track those athletic role models they waste their time. to illustrate, young people have continuous eager to know the latest news about the sports stars starting from their personal life until almost extending every match or tournament they participate in. Sometimes some fans travel abroad especially to witness the games of their beloved stars. Consequently, those young people spend much time away from their family, studying and work which would lead to catastrophic losses in their lives. For example, according to research conducted by the Egyptian Ministry of Higher Education in the year 2018 while monitoring the grades of its students during the running of the world cup football cup, there was about 30% drop of the males' grades due to focusing on the championships updates rather than their syllabus. Overall, due to its negative effects on their personalities and wasting their time I believe that respecting sports stars by youngsters despite they sometimes shun mainstream values is a drawback.