Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Buying a property is always an exuberant event. But before making the final choice, thorough analysis of merits and demerits of each option should be provided. In general, this topic elicits many opinions, one being that a private house is superior to an apartment, and vice versa. While questions have been raised regarding the drawbacks that accompany living in a house, these, in my opinion, definitely do not outweigh the associated benefits. With regard to the drawbacks of being settled in a house, the issue of security prevails. Residents of private houses are predisposed to superfluous exposure and therefore are jeopardized by robbers or murderers who might invade their home any minute. To illustrate, often private houses consist of two floors, which creates an inauspicious opportunity not to hear the actions taking place on the other floor. In addition, such storeyness storeys makes it easier to enter the house through the windows, as opposed to living in a flat. Even if there are grills on the windows, it is not so difficult to break down the entrance door due to the presence of locks solely. In contrast, apartments possess reliable security systems and video surveillance, which ensure total safety. Despite the points mentioned above, the benefits of owning a private house cannot be ignored. The main merit is that living in a private house contributes to having more space at one’s disposal in comparison with a flat. The former type of property has several rooms and household facilities, such as indoor swimming pools and playgrounds. This, in turn, results in more privacy for house dwellers, ensuring convenient living conditions. Furthermore, being separated from other buildings, houses maintain better soundproofing. Conversely, residents of apartments often complain about noise pollution that might lead to insomnia or even high blood pressure. Thus, although living in a house is insecure, I reckon that this drawback is eclipsed by benefits, so choice towards a house rather than an apartment should be made.