Is it important for government to buy pieces of art and put them in public areas? To what extent you agree or disagree?

Government should buy artworks, such as professional and nonprofessional paintings, for example, sculptures and batiks and so one and put them in museums and art-galleries. It is argued, whether it is necessary or not. From my point of view, this trend has a lot of positive sides. Firstly, it helps society to become more intelligent. Secondly, it is very helpful for artists, who sell their works. To begin with, the public spends more and more time staring into their phones nowadays. In this case, people are not interested in art, beauty and something romantic. For example, the latest research published in BBC magazine says, that visits to museums and galleries have decreased by 30% in the past 3 years. I guess, this is a good reason for power to overfill these places with new modern works, which would be interesting for the society. Furthermore, artists are not motivated to produce new creations, because no one wants to buy it, and no one is interested in their talents. As a result, this situation can lead to extinction of artists in the countries, where government is not buying their masterpieces. For instance, the number of artists in India is now 20% lower than 5 years ago. In my humble opinion, this number will become lower from year to year. To sum up, if state wants people to be happier and more entertained, art-galleries and other places should be full of modern and classic artworks. I believe, it helps both the society and the artists to behave better.