In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

It is a common trend in worldwide demography that the portion of elderly people is growing much faster as opposed to the babies being born. In this essay, I will discuss the negative effects on society, as well as provide possible solutions to the situation. Firstly, one of the main results of such a tendency is rapid labour force decrease which causes a paramount drop of state budget income primarily consisting of the taxes paid by the working part of the nation. Furthermore, statistics are showing that most European nations are “growing old”, in other words, the number of deaths is prevailing over the number of births. The trend may lead to a demographic crisis in those countries which do not take immediate actions against it. Having said that, government campaigns to stimulate population growth can possibly become the best solutions. State authorities may develop special encouragement programs to support newlyweds while they are planning to start a family. For instance, in some countries, citizens are offered substantial financial support when they have babies. Moreover, they are being provided with funds that can be spent on buying a house. Also, this money can be saved towards tuition coverage for the baby in future. Another way to solve the issue is immigration process enforcement. For instance, experienced immigrants make a tremendous contribution to the labour market of a state. By coming to the country and taking jobs, they start paying taxes topping up the treasury. In conclusion, older population growth is a serious issue that is causing problems in the labour market and an active population decrease. Nevertheless, the negative effects can be tackled by government programs stimulating birth and high immigration rates.