Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

We, as a human, are considered as a social animal, the animal that is bounded by the norms of the society. The general tendency of a human is to be co-dependent on others for some of their work. No human is fully self-independent. With the advent of the modern era and the advances that it made in the past few decades, people have argued whether we have become more dependent than the previous era. On the one hand, the technological progress that we made, has made us more independent. In this age of digitization, every person in this world has advanced gadgets and the internet, from which they he\she can communicate with anyone they want from across the globe. We have made significant devices and gizmos to ease our life to the fullest. For instance, the home automation system has helped us to control all the functions of a house remotely using the internet. This has enabled us to perform almost all household chores with the tip of a hand. Therefore, this has made us independent from relying on other people. On the other hand, the same technological progress has made us cripled of doing basic tasks of daily life. As we get all the necessary items with a touch on a screen, we have been habituated with all the pampering the technology has provided us with. In situations such as the stranded position we feel when the internet network is down, the havoc breaks upon us. As we have been habituated with the internet doing most of the itineraries in our life, we feel helpless when we fall into such situations. Thus, this has made us more dependent on technology and other people who can perform such tasks. To conclude, I feel that we have become less dependent on people for day-to-day tasks, but we have become more dependent on the internet and other technological advances human-made. So, I would not disagree with the notion of such people that we have become independent as we aren't. We certainly have become more independent from depending on other folks than in the previous era.