Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic. Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

There is no doubt that a lot of remedies are discovered to deter diseases that might affect people at their later ages. It is commonly believed that the government should have complete control over vaccines provided to children. However, some parents are against this and prefer to have their choice of whether vaccinate or not. I believe it should be made mandatory by the government as it is necessary for the future. First and foremost, any vaccine before releasing to market should undergo strenuous clinical trials for a couple of years. It is made compulsory provided that the results are promising and effective. A survey conducted by the KIMS medical university in India suggests that all the vaccines which are currently taken by people in India have very fewer fatality rates while compared to those who die from the actual disease. Thus, it is evident to make it mandatory by considering the positive outcome of existing results. In addition to that, it avoids health issues in children whose parents are not educated enough to decide what immunizations are necessary for their kids. This is because parents are not aware of the future consequences and prefer not to vaccinate. For instance, in India polio drops which is a solution against paralyzing the spinal cord are not compulsory, but there will be announcements all over the world, and parents should become aware of those and make sure their kids are immunized. However, 5% of youths suffer from this disease at a later stage because of the negligence of their parents. Thus it is very important to make it a country-specific law, so the hospital will be responsible to vaccinate children. In conclusion, vaccines are necessary for prohibiting many diseases. In my opinion, the authority to decide on vaccinating children should not be given to parents as it has many drawbacks than positive outcome.