Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that advertisements have manipulated the public's purchasing choices and most of the prevalent products are unnecessary to buy. I partly agree with the idea since I believe that advertising also has some positive effects on our daily life. On the one hand, we are living in a consumer culture that is ruled by marketing and promotion campaigns. For this reason, it is unable to avoid the influence of adverts when we make our purchasing decisions. One significant example is, we are encouraged to associate luxury brands with a higher social status by TV commercials. Furthermore, advertisers and marketing departments often promote their products by investing in TV series. Those sponsored dramas provide numerous exposure for their products, such as vehicles, cosmetics and clothing brands, which would become popular after the celebrities use these stuff. As a result, consumers would rush to buy the same item, which is not a must-have, to follow the trend. However, in my point of view, advertisements also inform us more choices of imperative products, especially household items like domestic appliance and cars. These informative adverts could upgrade our minds about the progress of products, which provide us enough information to choose the most suitable item. Apart from that, consumers tend to trust brands that would allocate funds to promote their goods. In conclusion, while advertising leads to some unnecessary purchase, it is still useful when we need to choose some kinds of products.