Some people think that watching imported films or TV programmes is good way to broaden a country's culture. Others feel that it is better to let a country make its own films

With the rapid development of globalisation, it is much more common for citizens to admire films from abroad. With that said, some people believe that watching films from their own country is better than watch imported films. From my perspective, I think it is better to watch films from different countries as it is easier for people to absorb different cultures. Undoubtably, natives can always comprehend the culture from their own country easier. The main reason for that is citizens have absorb knowledge of tradition from domestic media since they were children. Culture and citizens supplement each other. If people watch films from their own country more, they have better feeling about their own country absolutely. What is more, it will also lead to a significant impact on the domestic film market. With the increase of the revenue of local film-companies, film producers have more cash to invest on their films citizens, which will rise the quality of films, then the audience will have stronger confidence about their own box office, which will upgrade the confidence of film directors, improving the quality of movies again as a result, which is a virtuous circle. However, for some people, they believe that admiring imported films is a good way to broaden a country ’s culture. In my opinion, I think global horizons are important for contemporary people, which can be cultivated by admiring overseas movies. If people usually watch imported TV programmes usually, they will know more about local conditions and customs from different places, which expands their depth of thought. In addition, people can know their own culture deeper from another perspective. Take ‘The Last Emperor’ as an example, which is directed by Bernardo Bertolucci. It showed the Chinese culture well and also had a strong international influence. Although it is directed by a foreigner, it is still educational for Chinese people, which can enable people understand the history of that period easily. Today, in my view, I think it is necessary for the young to have global horizons as globalisation is developing rapidly, which means people need to watch imported films, meanwhile, it is also instrumental to get a better understanding of native culture. In conclusion, although people ’s opinions differ about films, it is undoubtable that they both benefit people. The meaning and the content of films are the main factors to select them.