Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is known for a fact that some governmental authorities prioritize winning on international sporting events, and fund training of human beings to participate in those. Nonetheless, some group of people oppose this idea as they contemplate that the funding should be used in an efficient way to satisfy the basic needs of society. I partly agree with the latter statement and will discuss it below. First of all, achieving medals or places in international competitions will never solve the problem of poverty, inflation or unemployment. Some may argue that showing the best individuals or best performance in that kind of competition may boost the investment to the country or recruit young individuals in that sphere. However, that is not the case for all countries. For example, Brazil has been supplying the world with the most talented and unique athletes, spending an enormous amount of financing on the training of those individuals, while the country and its nation suffer from devaluation and economic recession. A fraction of that young talents had been picked up by other successful teams or countries, but not every child there has the same chance of being saved from the difficult condition the country is in. That kind of mistakes leads to the fatality of the economic situation of that country. Secondly, funding the public services and needs increases the investment and the economic situation of that country way more efficiently rather than spending all cash on sporting events and the training for it. Satisfied people are happy in their nature and motivated to work more for themselves and the country they are living in. Therefore increasing the condition of living, economic situation, and etc. For instance, Norway is the perfect example of this case, as the nation have been taking first places and gold medals on every winter Olympics and other sporting events. Despite that, the foremost thing that the governmental bodies in Norway put in their budget is public demands and their funding. Young pupils and students are provided with scholarships and education are completely tuition-free. In conclusion, it does not matter which place or medal the country wins. But it does matter to make the people that living in that country are satisfied and completely happy.