In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In a number of countries, children are persuaded that there does not exist anything unachievable in the conditions of hard working. Even though such an approach may have a positive impact on the future success of an individual, however, it is likely to have drawbacks as well. On the one hand, telling a person that every achievement is possible for him, will definitely be a valuable source of motivation for the latter. Providing a child was sure that doing more exercises would undoubtedly contribute to becoming a champion further down the line, then the process of training might be more pleasurable and, hence, more efficient. The most salient example of this is the great scientist Albert Einstein. When the latter dropped out of school, her mother read for him the letter received from the principle of that institution, which told him that Einstein was too talented to be taught at school and he should be provided with special education conditions in order to enhance his abilities. In fact, the content of the letter was exactly the opposite. However, the words of the parent inspired the child to become one of the most popular physics in the world. On the other hand, the aforementioned arguments may be reversed for those children who possess physical or mental disabilities. In this case, one will not be capable to reach the desirable goal, even making too many efforts. Nobody would deny, that for these individuals any failure might be a psychological shock. For instance, according to the recent experiments of Oxford University, the group of students who were told that they would definitely receive the highest scores during the exam were extremely stressed after the failure, whereas those, who were unaware of their predicted grades, were much more stable psychologically. In conclusion, such an issue of baseless encouragement from the parents is debatable. Therefore, for a group of individuals, it may be beneficial and motivating, while for others it might stimulate stress and depression in the case of failure.