Nowadays, people are spending increasingly large amounts of money on their marriage parties. Many people feel large and expensive weddings cause problems for the bride and groom. Do you agree? Use personal examples in your response.

With many people spending huge amounts of money on their marriage parties in the current times, there is a popular belief that such costly weddings would cause issues for the bride and groom. I fully agree with this opinion and this essay will support my agreement with examples and reasons. Firstly, due to the high costs that occur in weddings, the economic status of any couple would go down drastically on that single event called marriage. For example, my uncle, who has completed twenty years of married life, is still repaying the loan that he took to conduct a grand wedding ceremony. So unlike education, where a person can acquire a degree after spending money on school expenses, there is nothing that these couples would get after spending capital on a single event called marriage. Hence, it can be proved that a grand wedding can deplete the monetary resources of the bride and groom who are incurring that cost. Secondly, Due to an uncertain future with respect to marital life, it is always financially beneficial to people who avoid lavish wedding ceremonies. For instance, There are a lot of cases where both husband and wife have filed the divorce in court with mutual consent after spending a huge fortune on grand wedding parties. Therefore, when we do not know what is in our future, it is best to spend money on such events very cautiously. As a result, Indian governments have introduced a new tax law to penalise citizens who spend more than 5 lakh Indian rupees on weddings. To conclude, nowadays people are spending a large portion of their wealth on personal wedding functions and such expenditure can cause issues for bride and groom. I fully agree with this view for the reasons like huge cost and no scope of return of investment in cases, where marriages have ended due to irreconcilable differences.